Our World In Crisis

Starla Carter here.  If you’ve ever seen my show “Crisis” — and let’s face it: if you haven’t, what are you doing here? — you know that me and my staff are tireless in our pursuit of up-to-the-minute news and views on the downright troubling proliferation of superheroes, in Los Angeles and beyond.  And believe it or not, literally dozens of potential stories cross my desk every day which, simply due to the realities of television production, never make it to air.  But this reporter is so dedicated to keeping you in the know that, starting now, many of those stories that don’t make the cut will find a home here on “Crisis Points.”

All opinions expressed herein are mine and mine alone, and do not reflect on the producers of “Crisis” or anyone at our fine network.  That said, “Crisis Points” is more than just my own personal soapbox.  It’s my attempt to highlight the truths about the superhero phenomenon that national, so-called “news” outlets consistently gloss over.  And before any of my many and vocal detractors try to lump me in with the those backwoods bigots in the Humanist Army movement, let me disabuse them of that notion here and now.  I am as sickened by their superhero branding initiatives and ethnic cleansing propaganda as the next red-blooded American.  The simple fact that they possess powers and abilities far beyond those of ordinary people does not mean they deserve to be persecuted.  All I’m saying is, they don’t deserve any special treatment either.  If a normal person started running around taking justice into their own hands, society would lock them up and throw away the key.  Superheroes, for some reason, get a pass.  They’re attention-hogging spotlight-whores who shamelessly steal the glory of our more-deserving public servants, and make their jobs all the harder in the process.  And don’t even get me started on the Chinese model, where the term superhero has become all but synonymous with “corporate shill.”

If you’re as outraged about these developments as I am, then to all you civic-minded citizens I say this: Read on.

Leave a Reply

